Raga identification made easy!

Laya Lahiri : Most Common Thalas

Welcome back to the next episode of 'Laya Lahari'.  Before we further move on, lets discuss about the answers to those two questions in 'Tarang 1'.  
Q1- Triputa tala contains one laghu and two druthams.   Mishra jaati implies a laghu containing 7 aksharas, for each dhrutham 2 aksharas, therefore the total would be 7 + 2 + 2 = 11 aksharas. 

Q2- Rupaka tala contains one dhrutham followed by one laghu.  For dhrutham the count is always 2.  If the total has to be 6, then the aksharas in laghu must be 4, which means it is chathurasra jaati rupaka tala.

Hope all our rasikas have got these answers right.  In case of any difficulty in answering these questions, do let us know; we would be glad to explain them to you individually.

In continuation to last week's introduction to the tala system, Suri further talks about  the most commonly handled talas this week.  

The talas that one gets to see most often are Adi, Rupakam, Khanda Chapu, Mishra Chapu, Thisra jaati triputa tala, Khanda jaati triputa tala, Mishra jaati jampa tala.  There are some Varnams and Dhikshitar's kritis in not so common talas which are sometimes sung by musicians in concert platforms.  Thiruppugazh is another example where we come across complicated talas.  Suri would take up the demonstration of the common talas in the forth coming weeks.  Do stay tuned! 

Laya Lahiri section discusses the fundamentals of rhythm or laya, which forms an integral part of Carnatic music. Vidwan Thillaisthanam R. Suriyanarayanan explains the common and 'must-know' aspects of laya through his mridangam demonstrations. (Explanations in Tamil) This is by no means exhaustive but we hope this would be a good beginner's guide for rasikas to get started with percussion in Carnatic music.